Nu är iOS 11 släppt!
Här är alla nyheterna och allt du behöver veta 
Roger Åberg
Ny trailer för Wolfenstein II: The New Colossus
No More Nazis! 
Frode Wikesjö
Macklemore visar upp sin samling med sneakers
Och lite av sina gamla kläder 
Bobby Green

Plutos hjärta har fått ett namn

Flera platser på Pluto har nu fått vettiga namn

Foto: NASA
Visa inte Vetenskap-artiklar
Vetenskap / Rymden

Populär Astronomi skriver att Internationella astronomiska unionen (IAU) har namngivit 14 formationer och geografiska platser på dvärgplaneten Pluto.

Bland områdena som blivit namngivna hittas bland annat området som ofta kallats för "Plutos hjärta" och de området är nu officiellt känt som "Tombaugh Regio" efter den amerikanske astronomen Clyde Tombaugh som upptäckte Pluto 1930.

På bilden nedan kan ni kolla in alla områden och formationer på Pluto som fått officiella namn och under "Läs mer" nedan hittas lite mer utförlig information om respektive plats.

Nya officiella namn på regioner på Pluto

Tombaugh Regio honours Clyde Tombaugh (1906–1997), the U.S. astronomer who discovered Pluto in 1930 from Lowell Observatory in Arizona.

Burney crater honors Venetia Burney (1918–2009), who as an 11-year-old schoolgirl suggested the name “Pluto” for Clyde Tombaugh’s newly discovered planet. Later in life she taught mathematics and economics.

Sputnik Planitia is a large plain named after Sputnik 1, the first space satellite, launched by the Soviet Union in 1957.

Tenzing Montes and Hillary Montes are mountain ranges honouring Tenzing Norgay (1914–1986) and Sir Edmund Hillary (1919–2008), the Indian/Nepali Sherpa and New Zealand mountaineer who were the first to reach the summit of Mount Everest and return safely.

Al-Idrisi Montes honours Ash-Sharif al-Idrisi (1100–1165/66), a noted Arab mapmaker and geographer whose landmark work of medieval geography is sometimes translated as “The Pleasure of Him Who Longs to Cross the Horizons.”

Djanggawul Fossae defines a network of long, narrow depressions named for the Djanggawuls, three ancestral beings in indigenous Australian mythology who travelled between the island of the dead and Australia, creating the landscape and filling it with vegetation.

Sleipnir Fossa is named for the powerful, eight-legged horse of Norse mythology that carried the god Odin into the underworld.

Virgil Fossae honors Virgil, one of the greatest Roman poets and Dante’s fictional guide through hell and purgatory in the Divine Comedy.

Adlivun Cavus is a deep depression named for Adlivun, the underworld in Inuit mythology.

Hayabusa Terra is a large land mass saluting the Japanese spacecraft and mission (2003–2010) that returned the first asteroid sample.

Voyager Terra honours the pair of NASA spacecraft, launched in 1977, that performed the first “grand tour” of all four giant planets. The Voyager spacecraft are now probing the boundary between the Sun and interstellar space.

Tartarus Dorsa is a ridge named for Tartarus, the deepest, darkest pit of the underworld in Greek mythology.

Elliot crater recognises James Elliot (1943–2011), an MIT researcher who pioneered the use of stellar occultations to study the Solar System — leading to discoveries such as the rings of Uranus and the first detection of Pluto's thin atmosphere.

Källa: IAU

Läs mer